Cookies on DVDActive
DVDActive uses cookies to remember your actions, such as your answer in the poll. Cookies are also used by third-parties for statistics, social media and advertising. By using this website, it is assumed that you agree to this.
 
Leaderboard Extra
Any Open Air Cinemas in the U.S.? U.K.?

Forums - Discs & Movies - Any Open Air Cinemas in the U.S.? U.K.? 

1st December 2005 12:37  #1

Mark Lim Member Join Date: March 2004 Location: Australia Posts: 1,211
Any Open Air Cinemas in the U.S.? U.K.?
Hi guys.

Just wondering if you guys get Open Air Cinemas in the summer?

Every summer in January, particularly in Sydney, there are three Open Air Cinemas open for those who like watching movies in an outdoor/ garden setting while enjoying the fresh night air. One in particular is interesting as it is set with the backdrop of the Sydney City Skyline, The Opera House, The Harbour Bridge and Sydney Harbour, while a beautiful Botanical Gardens is right next door.

To see what it looks like, Log onto www.stgeorge.com.au/openair

Movies atart at 8:30pm every day from January 5th to February 16th. Online tickets are AU$20.50 adults/$18:30 concessions plus booking fee. Tickets at the gate AU$21.50/$19.50.

This event has been a regular for Sydneysiders and tourists for the last ten years. 2006 would be the 10th anniversary of the event. There will be "40 nights, 40 films, One celebration" as stated in the website.

There's even an onsite outdoor restaurant and bar to cater for pre-movie meals and beverages.

7th December 2005 23:32  #2

Mark Lim Member Join Date: March 2004 Location: Australia Posts: 1,211
Dos no reply mean you people from the north have never been to an outdoor cinema??

The full program for Sydney's St.George Open Air Cinema comes out tomorrow Friday in my local Sydney Morning Herald! Yay!
Can't wait to find out what movies will be on offer. I had a really good time the last time I went. It was the official Australian Premiere of "Spy Game" starring Brad Pitt and Robert Redford. I even met some Aussie celebrities there.

I will post the full program when I get it tomorrow, and you guys can coment whether they are good choices or not. Apparently they will all be either Comedies or Thrillers as research from previous events showed Australian audiences enjoy these more.  

8th December 2005 0:18  #3

Jonny "Me You" Senior Member Join Date: March 2004 Location: Canada Posts: 2,863
Aside from a company running a promo, the closest to that I've ever heard of is a drive in, and there aren't too many of those left over here.

8th December 2005 16:04  #4

Mark Lim Member Join Date: March 2004 Location: Australia Posts: 1,211
It's a shame that you people from the north have never experienced what I have. This is also another great way to enjoy a romantic date - dinner and movie in the summer outdoors, or just sit on the grass with the family to watch a movie (this other outdoor cinema is appropriately named "Moonlight Cinema" and is located in another public parklands not far from Fox Studios, Sydney.

Anyway, when I get the newspaper today, you'll be able to check out what movies are on offer.

And if any of you decide to come down under during the summer, in particular late December or anytime January, be sure to check this out. It's definitely on every year. The Sydney city and Harbour view is breathtaking!

10th December 2005 15:40  #5

Mark Lim Member Join Date: March 2004 Location: Australia Posts: 1,211
Here's the official program of the 2006 St. George Open Air Cinema in Sydney, Australia...

Thu Jan 05 Australian PREMIERE: The Producers
Fri Jan 06 Kiss Kiss Bang Bang
Sat Jan 07 The 40yr Old Virgin
Sun Jan 08 Me and You and E'vryone
           We Know
Mon Jan 09 In Her Shoes
Tue Jan 10 Australian PREMIERE Keeping Mum
Wed Jan 11 Cinderella Man
Thu Jan 12 Mrs Henderson Presents
Fri Jan 13 The Perfect Catch (AKA Fever Pitch)
Sun Jan 15 Look Both Ways (AUS)
Mon Jan 16 Australian PREMIERE Memoirs Of a Geisha
Tue Jan 17 The Wedding Crashers
Wed Jan 18 Australian PREMIERE Brokeback Mountain
Thu Jan 19 36 Quai des Orfevres
Fri Jan 20 Charlie and the Chocolate Factory
Sun Jan 22 The Proposition
Mon Jan 23 Australian PREMIERE Walk The Line
Tue Jan 24 Shopgirl
Wed Jan 25 Dirty Harry
Thu Jan 26 *Australian National Day* - Little Fish (AUS)
Fri Jan 27 Special Presentation Feat. The Sydney Symphony
           Orchestra - Amadeus
Sun Jan 29 Mad Hot Ballroom
Mon Jan 30 Australian PREMIERE Casanova
Tue Jan 31 The Constant Gardener
Wed Feb 01 Prime
Thu Feb 02 Riding Giants
Fri Feb 03 Thumbsucker
Sat Feb 04 5 x 2
Sun Feb 05 Australian PREMIERE Goal!
Mon Feb 06 Australian PREMIERE Transamerica
Tue Feb 07 Pride & Prejudice
Wed Feb 08 Harry Potter & The Goblet of Fire
Thu Feb 09 The Family Stone
Fri Feb 10 Tim Burton's Corpse Bride
Sat Feb 11 Good Night & Good Luck
Sun Feb 12 Enron: The Smartest Guys in the Room
Mon Feb 13 Broken Flowers
Tue Feb 14 Australian PREMIERE Little Manhattan
Wed Feb 15 Fun With D**k & Jane
Thu Feb 16 Australian PREMIERE Separate Lies

So, as you can see, there are a ton of great movie selections, and many are tipped for Oscar nominations and win. The only film missing is King Kong. Otherwise, I'm going to take my parents to see Memoirs of a Geisha. I wouldn't mind seeing Harry Potter again, and would love to see The Family Stone. There are just so many good movies here.

Wish you all could come to Sydney in January to experience this wonderful annual event!  

11th December 2005 19:16  #6

Tony DeFrancisco Senior Member Join Date: July 2005 Location: United States Posts: 2,652
The schedule sounds great.

There was one about 20 miles from me that's been closed now for a good 3 or 4 years.

Quick Reply 

Message Enter the message here then press submit. The username, password and message are required. Please make the message constructive, you are fully responsible for the legality of anything you contribute. Terms & conditions apply.
Not Registered?
Forgotten Details?